Banner Default Image

Jobs in UK

The United Kingdom (UK) consists of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. Each of these countries is further divided into counties, cities, boroughs, and districts. Here’s a detailed breakdown:


England is divided into nine regions, which are further subdivided into counties and districts. The regions are:

  1. North East England

    • Counties: Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, County Durham, Tees Valley (part of Durham and North Yorkshire)

  2. North West England

    • Counties: Cumbria, Lancashire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Cheshire

  3. Yorkshire and the Humber

    • Counties: North Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, East Riding of Yorkshire, Lincolnshire (part)

  4. East Midlands

    • Counties: Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Northamptonshire, Lincolnshire (part)

  5. West Midlands

    • Counties: Shropshire, Staffordshire, West Midlands (county), Worcestershire, Warwickshire, Herefordshire

  6. East of England

    • Counties: Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk

  7. London

    • The capital city, divided into 32 London boroughs and the City of London.

  8. South East England

    • Counties: Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey, West Sussex

  9. South West England

    • Counties: Gloucestershire, Bristol, Wiltshire, Somerset, Dorset, Devon, Cornwall, Isles of Scilly


Scotland is divided into 32 council areas, often grouped into larger regions:

  1. Highlands and Islands

    • Council Areas: Highland, Orkney Islands, Shetland Islands, Western Isles, Moray, Argyll and Bute

  2. North East Scotland

    • Council Areas: Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire

  3. Tayside

    • Council Areas: Angus, Dundee City, Perth and Kinross

  4. Central Scotland

    • Council Areas: Stirling, Falkirk, Clackmannanshire

  5. West Scotland

    • Council Areas: Glasgow City, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde

  6. South West Scotland

    • Council Areas: Dumfries and Galloway, East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, South Ayrshire

  7. Lothian

    • Council Areas: Edinburgh City, West Lothian, Midlothian, East Lothian

  8. Fife

    • Council Area: Fife

  9. Borders

    • Council Area: Scottish Borders


Wales is divided into 22 principal areas (counties, county boroughs, and cities):

  1. North Wales

    • Principal Areas: Anglesey, Gwynedd, Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Wrexham

  2. Mid Wales

    • Principal Areas: Powys, Ceredigion

  3. South West Wales

    • Principal Areas: Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire, Swansea, Neath Port Talbot

  4. South Wales

    • Principal Areas: Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Merthyr Tydfil, Cardiff

  5. South East Wales

    • Principal Areas: Caerphilly, Blaenau Gwent, Torfaen, Monmouthshire, Newport

Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland is divided into 11 districts:

  1. Antrim and Newtownabbey

  2. Ards and North Down

  3. Armagh City, Banbridge, and Craigavon

  4. Belfast

  5. Causeway Coast and Glens

  6. Derry and Strabane

  7. Fermanagh and Omagh

  8. Lisburn and Castlereagh

  9. Mid and East Antrim

  10. Mid Ulster

  11. Newry, Mourne, and Down


The UK is a union of four distinct countries, each with its own subdivisions, including regions, counties, cities, boroughs, districts, and council areas. This administrative structure supports local governance and helps manage the diverse needs of its regions.